Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Super Moderator
8,456 Posts
we have to test with air or water. hard to test with water in winter or when there is no water on the job. how many psi was on the pipe when it exploded?
That’s what I’ve been wondering. In the one municipality that requires it, IIRC, and I could be wrong, but I think they want to see 15 psi hold for 15 or 20 minutes.

·
Registered
374 Posts
It used to be a acceptable test in Illinois don't know if it still is.I remember having a test on at 5lb. and hearing a leak on a 2" Cherne plug on a floor drain,reached down to give it another twist and it let loose,never found the test plug it flew so far as it zipped past my head.

There was a Local 130 guy killed a few years back air testing some 5" galv. down in Chicago.

·
Super Moderator
12,486 Posts
Years ago down in West Palm Beach, FL we air tested 2" copper. I was a young apprentice and I was working with a journeyman plumber. We had roughed-in all the PVC and copper for an electronics store that was being built. I think it was a Best Buy, but I can't remember for certain.

The journeyman had a leak on the overhead 2" copper that was very easy to fix since there was no water in the pipe. I think that he soldered all the piping, I was still green and I don't remember soldering. It's so much easier to repair copper with air in the line for the test as opposed to water. But never, ever, ever test PVC with air.

·
Registered
2,175 Posts
Years ago down in West Palm Beach, FL we air tested 2" copper. I was a young apprentice and I was working with a journeyman plumber. We had roughed-in all the PVC and copper for an electronics store that was being built. I think it was a Best Buy, but I can't remember for certain.