Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Residential Plumber
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody my name is Mike Jessome I am 19 and i'm from Canada, and i'm a first year apprentice work for a company that got 13 guys we do alot of residential and a bit of commercial, we have a service guy, but he is alone so what i'd like to know from all you journeymen is what are some key things you look for in a apprentice. I work hard everyday. I run to the truck for tools or material. I ask questions because I want to learn but try not to bug the journeyman i'm with on whatever day, I'd like to know some things that could help me get more work done or have who ever i'm working with want me to go with them that day because of my work ethic or i'm good at something that an other apprentice may not be.

Thanks.

·
Registered
348 Posts
Mike Learn the truck, learn the truck. know that truck better then the guy your working for. stay on top of the tools. lay them out on his right or left depending which hand he uses. when you know you will be using a power tool get it set up with cord and power. Clean up all garbage. If he stops to chat with customer keep busy, don't interrupt. be ready with rags, tape putty. think of yourself as an emergency room nurse and be that good. steve

·
Registered
2,623 Posts