Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Super Plumbster
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I was recently talking to an engineer about the hydrodynamics of "water hammer". If I have a basic single handle moen old style (non-positemp) shower valve at the end of a several hundred foot run of 3/4" PEX, CPVC, Copper, Etc. shutting off the valve rapidly, causes water hammer.

Will installing one or more swing joints in the run help eliminate water hammer??? And If so, why does the change in direction via a swing joint help eliminate this problem???

Obviously I could use a prefabed arrestor, air chambers, and other methods and/or devices to elimate this type of problem. I am just not sure how this swing joint concept works, if it does.

I am a 4th generation plumbing contractor in Central Florida w/ about 20+ yrs exp. and have always used other methods mentioned above to eliminate this type problem.

Wondering if someone could enlighten me on this swing joint concept, if it works.

Thanks,

Michael. CFC, CGC

·
Registered
843 Posts
If it's threaded pipe, I'd guess that the water hammer would mess up the threads after a while. Better to have slow-closing valves.

·
Always Something
1,369 Posts
That poster said the duel TK's were the cause of the hammer.....I'll bet that was his best educated guess. Tankless units do not aid or help remove hammer. At lease in all the ones I have installed and seen. Long runs with proper pressure will still hammer when the valve is slammed shut. Velocity plays a big part in it.

·
Always Something
1,369 Posts
I was recently talking to an engineer about the hydrodynamics of "water hammer". If I have a basic single handle moen old style (non-positemp) shower valve at the end of a several hundred foot run of 3/4" PEX, CPVC, Copper, Etc. shutting off the valve rapidly, causes water hammer.