Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,880 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let's go again .....

I am a BIG Gerber fan !! My standard toilet is the Gerber Viper . Great price , GREAT flush !!! Happy customers !

For comfort height ,,, Gerber Avalanche !!! Ranked # 1 over all the others.

Who's up to bat on this topic ??

Cal

Reactions: Kempsville

·
residential service
1,948 Posts
I have been installing Toto w/g-max for several years. I don't know how many I have installed but it's been a lot. About 6 -8 weeks ago I had my first call back on one. It was on a toilet that had been installed for a couple (maybe 3) months. The fill valve wouldn't shut off. House pressure was fine so I swapped out the fill valve and that was that. I have never found any toilet that performs as well. I get calls on Kohlers not flushing right all the time. Don't see many newer Gerbers. Toto all the way for me.

·
Registered
1,880 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's absolutely possible that you got a bum Avalanche . Yet these are some AWESOME toilets ! Might be a bad spot in that avalanche .

Toto s are truly great too . IMO the toto is too expensive , also we have a difficult time getting them around my location . I've installed toto s and I'm STILL a Gerber fan .

Kohler , A/S , Crane etc just do NOT compare anymore to the really good toilets . Sorry but that has been my experience.

Cal

Reactions: Kempsville

·
residential service
1,948 Posts
What type of flush mechanism does Gerber use? Is it their version of Toto's G-Max? Everyone else is trying to play catch up to Toto by producing their versions of the Toto G-Max. Do they have fully glazed trapways? How much are you paying for a standard height elongated bowl and tank?

·
Banned
3,806 Posts
I don't get to choose, but I install a lot of concealed tank Duravit's, and rear outlet tank type Duravits. We install a good number of Toto's as well.

·
Registered
1,880 Posts
Discussion Starter #7