Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
i am a 3rd year apprentice and was wondering about the possibilities of putting some solar heat into my garage and was wondering how many panels it would take to keep a garage of 832 sq. ft. heated at about 59 degrees fahrenheit with an outdoor design temp of -20 degrees fahrenheit, and if you directly pump the fluid through the panels and floor without the use of a heat exchanger?

·
Banned
3,806 Posts
i am a 3rd year apprentice and was wondering about the possibilities of putting some solar heat into my garage and was wondering how many panels it would take to keep a garage of 832 sq. ft. heated at about 59 degrees fahrenheit with an outdoor design temp of 20 degrees fahrenheit, and if you directly pump the fluid through the panels and floor without the use of a heat exchanger?
Sounds like a good project to test yourself on using formulas that you need to know to do the trade, consider it a challenge and feel free to post your results.

·
Banned
1,589 Posts
I'd strongly advise use of a storage tank, that setup would be useless after 5pm on a winter night.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
thanks for the advice grumpy, now what I'm really wondering is, i am rebuilding my garage from 580 sq. ft to 832 sq. ft and have about an 80% efficient furnace and was wondering if when i rebuild the garage with one/two panels and a storage tank for in slab heating use, would i see a payback in the solar system after 10 years?

·
Registered
63 Posts
see manufacturer's specifications... when in doubt =) they know their product better then any one else. so i hear those systems work pretty well. especailly depending on your area. but i mean it could not hurt an a great learning project. but if your shooting for savings... yea long term an secondly .. mor about getting free guilt free energy.

·
Registered
6,312 Posts