Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
waterheaterzone.com
2,043 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being in the plumbing service business, I am a salesman by necessity. I sell my licensed skills, my timely service as well as my quality plumbing parts.
I have always hated selling, and it doesn't come natural to me. The biggest one for service plumber's to overcome is the 'price-objection' of course. Has anyone read any good books or maybe bought some good audio-books about selling?

I am interested in learning more, so I can close more service calls, as well as increase my average service call $$$, with ad-on sales, etc. If anyone has any good books or whatever, please share here.

·
LeMarr Plumbing, Inc.
772 Posts
Only thing I can think of right now is, on Up Front Pricing.Com there is a guy some where on there with a video system on tech training. I can't remember.
I run into objections, not very often, but when I do, I reassure them on the quality of product (show it and compare it to customers) and reinstate the fact that it has a 2 year guarantee and if for any reason it should fail I will replace and/or repair at no cost to you. Also may say "Knowing we have a 100% Satisfaction, what kind of work are we going to do for you", then I let them answer. So now I have confirmed, the ho has said to themselves there is no reason why they shouldn't do business with me.
Heres an senerio of a fill valve. I will show them the reason it is failing and explain what the fill valve does and I will say " I'm going to run out and get ours (Wolverine) to show you the quality and how it works (hands on)". As soon as they see it and hold it (heavy) and look at theirs (plastic), they feel it is a good investment to replace theirs and get a 2 year guarantee and a new supply line.
There is many ways to get add on sales but I can't type that much:laughing: Not saying I know them all but I know a few.