Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have been a journeyman plumber for 5 years and was an apprentice for 3 years,i work for a company now and will be taking my masters in 4 months

i plan on starting my own business in a year or two
i already have my own truck(stocked) ,most of the tools i will need,
drain machines,and some steady customers

after overhead
how much do you pay yourself salary weekly?

·
Registered
344 Posts
At first? Enough to pay the bills and eat off of, plus some minor mad money (20 bucks a week).
Once you get into the black and have three to six months in capital reserves, then I'd start to think about a small raise.

If you make the two year mark and have six months capital reserves and the company is showing a healthy profit and an upward growth trend, you have all the tools and equipment you care to buy for those jobs you do more than once every two months or so, then its time to think about a bigger paycheck.

However, this is something you really need to consider before you get too far along. I advise you not to take home any less than you are making now. But, you have to consider your taxes as well. Don't think that because you're making 15 bucks an hour or even 25 bucks an hour, that this is the sum total of your expense to the company. You have FIT and FICA, SUI/Medicare, etc. that you must pay into.

So my best piece of advice? Go talk with a good CPA before you start out. They can tell you what to expect as as a small business.

Doing the job is the easy part. Running the company is like juggling cats.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for your answers so far
i am trying to learn everything i can in the next year or two
(business part) so i am not going into business blind
i know the plumbing part of it, just never worked back in the office

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·