Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Plumber Manhattan Beach
828 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, as alot of you all know, I am 30 years old. For the last year I have been really serious about retiremement and preparing for the future, The wife and I met with a financial advisor today.

This is a 2 part meeting. He asked alot of questions about the past and about the present and about the future. .

After answering his questions, I am really scared. I am worried about the type of investing and savings we need to start right away to have a chance at a decent retirement.

I guess my question to all of you is:

Have you met with a financial advisor before? Do you find it possible to meet the requirements of retirement based on your postion in the plumbing trade? Your income level etc?

As a business owner, I feel that this should be part of a cost of doing business and should be passed down to my customers? Do you feel this is fair?

For those of you that have been left large inheritance, or property, trust funds, have been left established companies etc, this probably does not pertain to you. ;)

·
waterheaterzone.com
2,043 Posts
Its no wonder you're scared. In my experience, most financial advisors are greedy shysters and will do whatever it takes to get you to invest your money with them...they are NOT really interested in your retirement, they are more interested in THEIR OWN retirement, and want to make money off of your money. :no:
I have my own financial plans, and retirement is only one of them.

·
residential service
1,948 Posts
We met with someone about a year ago. Same thing, lots of questions and forms. He put all together in a report binder which said, when you boil it all down, that I needed to be saving about $4000 per month starting immediately.

The bad news is I've saved exactly $0.00 since that time.