Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
WILLPLUMB4$
584 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ALWAYS TRY TO STAY AWAY FROM ANYTHING A HOME OWNER MAY BE ABLE TO DO THEMSELVES OR INSTALL(FURNISH & INSTALL) FROM THE LOCAL D.I.Y CENTER. WOULD LIKE YOUR OPINOINS ON "QUICK CONNECTS" FOR WATER HEATER INSTALLS. ALSO WONDERING IF THERE MAY BE ANY CODE ISSUES IN USING THEM.:blush:

·
WILLPLUMB4$
584 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the correction. I was indeed refering to "flex lines" Would you use them? They look like they would speed up installation.

·
Banned
8,808 Posts
I'm a professional and I use them, sorry you feel that way about them.

·
Banned
8,808 Posts
Nothing wrong with giving your honest opinion, it is always nice to know what others think about a product, pex vs. copper, some like it some don't, some call it unprofessional and some say it looks good when done right. pvc vs. abs, some like some don't, it's a way of life. :)

·
residential service
1,948 Posts
Sounds like you're referring to flex lines.In this state a homeowner cannot install thier own Wtr.Htr. so the type of connection has no bearing.
Does this mean that Blowe's and HD don't sell water heaters in your state? Is this local code or IPC? We are under IPC here in Birmingham which if I remember correctly forbids any plumbing work which requires the cutting of any pipe in order to complete the work (or something like that). You would think this would keep the handymen and ho's from doing anything other than a faucet or toilet replacement and yet HD and Blowe's sell the snot out of water heaters and plumbing pipe/fittings of virtually every type. The problem is that the average ho (or handyman for that matter) knows absolutely nothing about the plumbing code and so they have no clue they are breaking the law and 99.9% of them wouldn't care if they did know.