Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
residential service
1,948 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just getting started with these installs. Prior to July of last year I had done a total of 2 tankless installs all the way back to 2003. The first was a Rinnai, the second was a Takagi, everything since has been Noritz. From July through December of last year I did 6 or 7 installs. So far this year I have done one install on Jan 8th and have another scheduled for this coming Monday.

I say all this to point out that I really don't have a wealth of experience installing these units but I'm learning all the time and my confidence with them grows a little each time. I have made some mistakes which I have had to correct but mostly everything has gone very well.

I think that I have developed (not necessarily all on my own) what I think is the best set up for providing power to these units. I am not an electrician so I don't know how to do it and don't do it. I sub out the electrical to a company I trust.

I started out having them hard wired directly to the unit which is fine I guess unless you have a power outage in which case the unit won't fire. I think now though at least for indoor installs and maybe for outdoor as well, that it might be better to have an outlet installed and then wire from the unit to a plug. If you do it this way it just affords more options to the ho in the event of power outage. I'm not really talking about the summertime thunderstorm outage that lasts for a couple of hours maybe but rather the winter storm '93 outages (anyone near my area should know what this means). If the unit terminates in a plug then the ho can still have hot water via an ac converter plugged into their car/truck.

In '93 we had a winter storm that dumped 16" of snow in an area that averages 0" inches of snow each year. I was without power for 8 days in an all electric apartment. What I would have given for a hot shower!