Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
By chance, has anyone written this exam recently? I'm a residential low rise plumber, just about to finish my last term of trade school (Advanced), and from I've been hearing, some stuff that is on red seal exam exam we don't even learn in school. Me being a low rise resindential plumber doen't help either. All I do at work basically is R/I, bath tubs, finishings and basements lol. I know nothing about hoisting and rigging, swimming pools, etc. Basically I just want to know if anyone has an actual copy of the exam, or any questions on this exam, SOMETHING lol. Anything would help, thx!

·
Registered
1 Posts
did you find anything out about the exam.I am almost finished my last term in school and am getting ready to write soon. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
34 Posts
What do you mean you know nothing about hoisting and rigging? At Conestogo College you have to have your hoisting and rigging card to graduate the coruse???

Advice for the red seal exam (from what I have been told) anything that you took in all three courses is fair game. You get both code books (national and provincial) and 4 hours to complete the test. It is not as bad as your weekly unit tests that you had in school.

·
Registered
25 Posts
At Humber college we did hoisting and rigging in basic. We watched a video and filled out a book of questions and answers. As for the Red Seal there are 2-3 hoisting and rigging questions, 3-5 health and safety questions as well.
As for weekly test, mine are in Advanced 10 -15 pages and take upwards of 2 -3 hours. I guess it depends on the instructor.
The Red Seal is 125 questions, has everything from reverse osmosis to pumps to cooling tower questions. You must know about low water cut offs, pressure switches, zone valves, radiant heat etc... I do not have the break down (ie. % of questions but will find it and post it)