Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys
I'm new to this form. I have a question.
The other day I recieved a "no hot water call" on a power vented JW water heater. The problem was, was that there was no "hot water pressure" at the tap itself. Cold was fine. There was no pressure regulator on the cold supply, only a vaccume breaker. A rap on the vaccume breaker solved the problem. I changed out the breaker to a new one and have heard nothing since. My question:
Is there an internal flapper type back check in the cold dip tube to stop hot water migration. I've been told there is but am not convinced. If there is, can the flapper stick and stop cold supply in therebye causing the pressure loss of hot water to the tap outlet? I'm second guessing the vaccume breaker change as being coincidental to the check valve (if there is one) un-sticking.
I see it like this. The vaccume breaker I would think makes sence to the workings of the tank. The induction of air would allow for a non vaccume situation in the tank. On the other hand, think of the thousands of systems out there without vaccume breakers working perfectly well.
Any thoughts or suggestions?
trout lake

·
٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶&#
8,329 Posts
Some heaters have neoprene flapper inserts at the in and out ports while others use heat trap nipples. Heat trap nipples have a ball check in them. Those balls can become siezed. I've also seen them break loose and travel into the hot side causing complete stoppages or partial flow restrictions.

Or it could be that the installing plumber was pissed at the HO and put a penny in one of the lines. If that's the case you'll be back shortly to try and find it:yes:

Hi guys
I'm new to this form. I have a question.