Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya guys, I have been working with Backflow devices full time for the last fifteen years. A layoff left me without a job sence Xmas. I have decided to open my own Backflow company. I am calling it AFFORDABLE BACKFLOW because that is what I want to provide. I have never opened my own business before and I am a little apprehensive to say the least. Do you guys have any ideas for me? As far as tips, tricks, business ideas, etc.? Any ideas how can I go about getting devices to test? Other than the obvious yellow pages ad. speaking of which Yellow pages are EXPENSIVE is it worth it? Any other marketing ideas that have worked for you?

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
457 Posts
Seems like in 15 years you would have a few contacts in the business. I'd start by letting them know you're in business.

Do you have all the licenses, insurance, etc to be in business for yourself?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well guys,
First off I want to specialize in residential backflow. There is an untouched gold mine of devices if you can convince the housewife they need to be tested. Notice I said "Housewife" You guys are married, you know if the Mrs. gets a bug in her butt about something it usually gets done right?
All i need to do is find a way to reach these women! a TV commercial during prime time soaps would help :p
TV is probally out of my advertizing budget at the moment, but radio is affordable, billboards arn't bad either. But niether of these are particularly woman friendly. I was thinking of those little billboards you see in the front of a shopping cart!

I have been told many times I should teach this subject. I feel if someone listens to me explain these things for a few minutes
They will have their device tested regardless if the municipality makes them or not.