Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Once I have a name, I understand I will need to register it with the secretary of state. I inquired about bonds today and I was told it is based on wither the area I'm in requires them, but it wasn't clear how I would find that info? How does that work? I plan on moving to the Denver area. I plan on buying a newish Ram promaster and living in a suburb of Denver most likely in an apartment. Is it a problem parking plumbing vans in apartment parking lots, or single family home neighborhoods?

It seems to me the free invoice apps on my phone do everything I would need. It would be nice to have one customized with my business name and logo, but as I was looking into Quickbooks it seemed like a lot of unnecessary stuff, maybe its meant for bigger businesses, but I'm just starting out as a one man shop. I plan on getting some sort of credit card reader for my phone. It would make sense that would incorporate an invoice with it?
Regarding a website I had heard it's good to invest in a quality website as opposed to one of those inexpensive sites. I was learning a lot about SEO's but this seems like it would be a better idea for larger companies to employ an actual company because it would seem the cost would be the same if it's a one man shop or a 50 man shop.

I will have to buy a few expensive tools like a cast iron cutter and I will need to stock my truck. Is it better to stock your truck with products from a supply house? I get the impression Big Box stores don't have equivalent products. Or are there a lot of items I can buy from a big box store that are just as good and less expensive? Any discounts I should be aware of?

As for advertising, I plan on having at least a basic website. I professional lettered or wrapped van. Should I get business cards? I'm moving to a state where I know absolutely no body.

Anything else I'm forgetting for starters?

·