Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Plumber
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at trailer and skid Jetters from northwest jetter and Trojan.

The principal decision seems to be between 4000 psi and 8 gallons a minute or 3000 psi at 12 gallons a minute.
What are the trade-offs involved? From the standpoint of capability? Flow versus high pressure?

·
Registered
34 Posts
I have run a Harben unit quite a bit, and it puts out 4k psi I'm not sure on the flow rate, but I know that for soft stoppages and grease I like more flow and for tree roots I like more pressure but I feel like flow can be regulated by which heads you choose to use and 3000 psi is where i start when cutting roots and anything less wouldn't be adequate.

·
Registered
Plumber
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for your replies gents.

I suppose I'm looking for something that's good for residential and light commercial.
I've been a plumber for eight years and have unstopped a wide variety of drains with cable.

We have always outsourced jetting.

I am new to Jetting.

Purchasing a $60,000 plus Jetter at the beginning of the business feel wrong.
The entry point of 20k for a good skid or trailer is what I'm looking at right now.

I'm looking at the unit that will have two hoses. 3/8 300 foot. 1/2 400 foot.

·
Registered
Plumber
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Yes the porable water issue in Jackson has been largely solved.

The problem with Jackson and the greater metropolitan area is that the entire town is built on hydraulic Clay.

Depending upon changes in wetness the ground shifts inches a year in some places.

When the mall was built in Jackson… There was a 10 foot void space underneath it.

All the plumbing and electrical had to be hung by people standing on 8 foot ladders.