Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Building codes guy
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. Ron the Plumber gave me a tip about this new site. I'm a city building inspector (don't shoot), and like to frequent sites like this to learn from industry professionals and share my knowledge as well. I figure that the more I know and the more you know, the better we all get along! Happy to help in any way I can.
Aaron

·
Banned
8,808 Posts
Glad you made it here. :thumbsup:

Ron

·
Master Plumber
1,069 Posts
Hey everyone. Ron the Plumber gave me a tip about this new site. I'm a city building inspector (don't shoot), and like to frequent sites like this to learn from industry professionals and share my knowledge as well. I figure that the more I know and the more you know, the better we all get along! Happy to help in any way I can.
Aaron
I figure we are on the same team. I try to make sure my work meets (or when appropriate, exceeds) the code and you as an inspector are my partner in making sure that happens.

Never had a significant problem with an inspector until recently. A meeting the same day with the head inspector and the building department manager got that resolved right quick. He ended up with a serious reprimand letter in his file. He is very subdued when he inspects my jobs from now on. But other than that, you think something doesn't meet code? Show me the code because if you are right I need to know it so I can do my work right. Hopefully you are man enough to back down if I am right. Fair enough? Never had that approach fail me. Of course, it won't work if done with an attitude.

So hey, no shots at you from me. We are supposedly on the same side so why would I "shoot" my partner?

·
Building codes guy
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well put 22! Thanks for the warm welcome!