Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are you an employee, apprentice, journeyman, business owner?
I am a new business owner and also my only employee. I am have a couple more boxes to check before I can give notice to my current employer and confidently strike out solo.
I have a PL01 plumbing license in Washington and I also keep my Idaho Journeyman license current. I have been a journeyman for around 11 years.

Tell us if you had to go to trade school. How long?
I was an registered apprentice with ABC in alaska for the entirety of the 8000 hours required to take my Journeyman Exam.
How many hours or steps(1/2/3/4) before you become a journeyman?

We studied 4 separate sections during my apprenticeship.
What trade certificate do you have, plumbing, gas, oil, pipe fitter etc.? How did you get them, exams, courses, or free in a cracker jack box?

Just full commercial plumbing licenses in WA and ID.
What about your recent jobs, describe what you actually do and what type of building : houses, high rises, commercial building, institutional, oil refineries, paper mills etc.

I have been a field foreman on a new school in the area for the last year or so. I have worked on 3 schools total, 2 of which were in remote bush villages in SW AK. I spent about 3 years as a service plumber helper before getting put on a large apartment (1000+units total) complex on a military base. Spent the rest of my hours there, before moving out of AK to WA. When I got to WA I worked for a service plumbing shop in ID for 1 year. I would say most of my experience is in service, then multi-family, then single family homes, and then commercial buildings like schools and sewage treatment plants.

I'm here mainly to talk plumbing with other plumbers and get some guidance/advice about working for myself. I'll do my best to stay active and participate in the discussions on this forum.