Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - I am an apprentice plumber and know even less about HVAC. I moved my gas hot water heater about 4 feet a week ago. To do this, a new elbow or about 45 degree joint in the flue pipe metal tubing was made. I noticed when we're using hot water and the hot water heater is engaged, condensation begins leaking from a very small leak in this joint between flue pipe pieces. I will note that it has been very cold here in Chicago this week, and I'm not sure if that has anything to do with it. I checked my roof, and while there appears to be a good amount of ice around the cap, it still seems to be on.
My first question is, even if I didn't have the leak, this water would be running back into the water heater top - is this normal at times? I would think rust would be an issue.
Next, what is the recommendation on how to best seal the joints between vents. I thought just 3 screws would do. With CO passing upwards, I'm concerned some could escape into my unfinished basement.
Lastly, part of the flue vent rests on a wooden floor joist before running upward to the next floor. I would think this gets too hot for that to be acceptable.
Please let me know your thoughts, and thanks in advance.

·
Banned
8,808 Posts
Hi cubfan Mark how about an into from you, so we know a little more about you, like where you from and what code you use, you know the kind of stuff plumbers like to know. That will help us help you more.

·
Master Plumber
1,069 Posts