Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Banned
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

So I'll probably get banned for this post since I'm not yet a professional, but I need some advice on making a career change to a plumber, or at least a part-time plumber

I'm currently a pilot for a major airline in the US and wanted to see what's the best way to become a plumber. This is something I've thought about doing for a while, but I was hesitant to give up flying since I enjoy it for the most part. I have a family friend I grew up with who owns his own shop and I thought about going out with him on jobs and helping out.

My plan would be to still fly (if possible) while gaining the necessary hours to become licensed. I'm in the tri-state area (think NY, NJ). Is there any chance at making this work without leaving flying all together and focusing on plumbing for 5+ years?

Maybe I can find a shop that just needs help part time and I could apprentice there when I'm off from my main job. If anyone get give me some advice before I get banned, I'd appreciate it!

Thanks so much.

·
Reverend, R.S.E., Master Plumber
Nice Head, what’s in the bag?
1,829 Posts
I wouldn’t hire someone who is only going to work part time.
It will take you 5 years of full time to get your ticket, at least in Ontario it’s 10,000 hrs
800 of those hours are in class full time.

·
Registered
7,050 Posts
Hey everyone,

So I'll probably get banned for this post since I'm not yet a professional, but I need some advice on making a career change to a plumber, or at least a part-time plumber

I'm currently a pilot for a major airline in the US and wanted to see what's the best way to become a plumber. This is something I've thought about doing for a while, but I was hesitant to give up flying since I enjoy it for the most part. I have a family friend I grew up with who owns his own shop and I thought about going out with him on jobs and helping out.