Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
Plumber
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm just a lowly service plumber, getting ready to make the jump and go out on my own in the next month or so. I started out as a pre-apprentice in the local union, worked for a contractor for about two years doing mostly new installations, schools, medical buildings, boiler replacements, and lots of process piping at food processing facilities. Most union contractors around here don't touch anything residential. After two years they told me I wasn't going to make much of a plumber and let me go, to this day I don't know if it was because of union politics, I pissed off the wrong shop rocket, or if I really was that stupid (possibly a combination of the three). After that, I went and worked for a real hack job outfit building a wastewater treatment plant. Foreman was a glorified trailer park maintenance supervisor, the owner got most of his crew from a temp service, and it was a really good opportunity for me to learn how things shouldn't be done. After about a year of that, the economy was in the dumper (this was 2009 or so) and I was fed up with that place, so I went to the only company I could get a job at, Roto-Hacker. After hiring, boss told me enthusiastically that it was a good place to work because they had a master plumber, and I could stick around long enough to get my license and then (his exact words) "go work for a GOOD company", which is exactly what I did. I've been with my current employer for about ten years, they treat me great, the owner is a really good guy but it's time for the next chapter in my career.