Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gday all

My name is Ben and im from Brisbane which is in Australia. I am a Licenced plumber, drainer, gasfitter and have been in the game for 16 years.Over that time I have worked in many different aspects of the trade,about a year ago i start work as an plumbing inspector for the Brisbane City Council.My job includes site inspections,plan approval and investigations,in the state of Queensland of which Brisbane is the capital plumbers must have there work inspected and tested before it is covered.These stages are,under slab and drain,water rough in and stack work and final completion,we have an excellent system in which high standards are maintained because of the mandatory inspections(Plumbing work must comply with the Plumbing and drainage act 2002 which is a state law)i would be interested to know if the indusrty in the USA is as highly regulated as ours?

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Welcome aboard Mate, to answer your question. For those of us contractors that abide by proper rules and regulations yes we are highly regulated. In my State FL on a typical residential there is a number of inspections required.

1st rough (underground DWV)
2nd rough (Stacks, water, tub install)
Final (done at final walk of home)
Sewer and water (Backflow inspection etc...)

We are required to pull permits for certain aspects of remodeling as well. Such as repiping etc....

Welcome, I look forward to hearing your input.

·
Banned
8,808 Posts
HI bfs were happy to have you aboard the PZ, welcome

·
WILLPLUMB4$
584 Posts
Welcome. If your drains really spin Counter clock wise, do you run your drain cleaning equipment in reverse?

·
WILLPLUMB4$
584 Posts
Just kidding around- serious about the cross walks. Welcome to the sight. Whats that toilet from australia called that uses .8 gallons, and will flush a 4lb potato? It has a 4" trap and outlet.

·
Registered
9 Posts