Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

Freeze copper line to stop flow

6K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  thumper 
#1 ·
I would like to freeze a 1/2" "M" copper water line with dry ice to add a 1/2" valve 6' down stream. Anyone ever do this? How much of the line do you apply the ice to? 2"? 4"? 6"? How long? cloth around line first? Obviously over freezing would cause the line to split. Not good! I know there can be no water movement while this operation is being attempted..... When I was an apprentice in 1980 I was with a journeyman that froze a 3" "L" line in a hospital and it worked! I know they have commercial kits designed for this, but I would like to try this if I get some good answers here. The reason I can't just shut the main valve is I'm on the bottom of 4 story 32 unit resort condo and it's a lot of hassle to schedule a shutdown.

#2 ·
Freezing worker i have use freeze kits over the years many times. You have to be prepared for things to go wrong dry ice isn't a good way to go, you need a kit. One thing you need to do is stop all flow our you will get wet. You need lots of time usually figure on twenty minutes. Live with the hassle it will be better in the long run. :wink:

#6 ·
Reactions: Mykeeb33
#9 ·
I like the add a valve and we have a freeze kit from general wire and spring(the snake makers) which does work well, but really you should just shut it down and do it the right way. If it's really that much of a hassle than they should shut down one day and add valves so you can shut off sections. Not having working valves is just stupid and frankly irresponsible. And if they refuse to correct the situation than F them, make them go through the hassle. But don't tuck your tail between your legs because someone else is being stupid.

Reactions: Mykeeb33 and Tango
#11 ·