Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello boys and girls,

I'm new to Plumbing Zone and the first thing I need to ask is I'm from Florida and looking into getting a plumbing license. Wow this state isn't right you don't need a plumbing license to go to work for somebody else but have to run the gauntlet to get your own license.
Would any of you fellow plumbers in Florida like to give me to give a run down of what this process,cost and personal responsibly would be?
I've been though the DBPR web site and have called about six times but never completely adds up. I see things like
"Applicants must document a net worth of $10,000 and submit a financial statement documented by a CPA", $600.00 in books you have to bring to the tests, Electronic finger printing 50+ dollars.
I've had to explain twice to state licensing people what a plumbing code is.
Is this real or am I smoking something really good?:blink:
Thanks, Bob Morris

·
I aint CPV see in it?
4,896 Posts
I just went through that wild ride last year in n florida buddy. What do you wanna know first. OH, and there is no more net worth of 10k needed. They are being sued right now over that, so they did away with it. Your probably looking at that part the way I did. If I start my business, THEN, i can show a net worth eventually, of 10K. Its a bunch of BS. You need to do things in this order, and you will be okay.

1.Register for exam
2.Take exam
3.Pass Exam
4.All other requirements are then needed for license issue.

1.a. Finger printing
2.b. Work history advadvit(must be signed by a CERTIFIED plumbing contractor. NO RFs allowed.) Fax it to me, and Ill sign it.
3.c. Proof of liability insurance
4.d. Workmans comp exemp proof
5.e. Passing results of exam
6.f. Credit history, of personal and business credit,(this one gets me too, because, how can there be a credit history of a business that doesnt exist?)
7.g.Turn in Application with all fees