Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
8,808 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Enzymes the ones that claim to be able to keep the drain clean and open, like the foaming types, do they really work. I was never convinced they work, do they work?

·
Registered
584 Posts
We use a product called Glug. I've never used it to clear a line, it's always done mechanically then treated to help get rid of whatever is left in there. It comes in flakes which you pour into the strainer then run hot water. This allows the chemical to hit it for a minute or so. You can hear crackling in the pipe after you put it in there, I always figured it was the cleaner eating the organic material down there but I could be wrong.

·
Ridgid tool user
4,909 Posts
I have some friends that swear by BioClean but I have no experience with it. I saw that you're not supoosed to use antibacterial soap with it But regular soap is just as effective when it comes to killing bacteria. Maybe this is their way out if you have another stoppage?

I have started using Rootx based on the testimonials. I inspected one bad line 4 months after using it and I didn't see a single root. I still don't know about it lasting a year though but I hope it does.

·
Registered
344 Posts
I have used BioClean quite a bit and like it. Yes it works. Follow the directions.

Be warned, any enzyme will take time to work. Slow drains usually showed improvement overnight, with good flow in a couple of days.

I've taken pipes that were almost totally clogged with grease that were cut out from under sink areas and put them down in the BioClean. In about a month, they were clean to the walls. Good stuff.

Regular non-antibacterial soap will not hurt bacteria, just wash it away.

·
Banned
8,808 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·