Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
913 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Things not to do when looking for a job or trying to keep a job:

On application. Position Desired: Plummer :eek:

During interview process: "I'm an excellent plumber and have done practically everything" On application. Salary Desired: $11.00 / hr. :no: Got this bozo just last year!

During interview process for Service Plumber (min. 5 years Service experience). "Can you snake a drain?" Answer: "Yeah, but I'm not a turd chaser. Can't stand the smell of sh*t!" :no: Can someone say NEXT!

During interview process. "Why did you leave your last job?" Answer: "The boss got pi$$ed because I did side work on the weekend with the company truck." :no: Oh yeah, we want you!

After hiring Master Plumber from NJ. Call to look at possible leaking water heater due to water in pan, may be A/C Unit above dripping down on heater into pan. Call to office:
Plumber: This heater looks shot.
Office: How old is it?
Plumber: I dunno.
Office: Give me Model #, Serial #, and Manufacturer.
Plumber: Proceeds to give me Model # & Serial #. Manufacturer, hold on to your chair . . . drum roll please . . . . Manufacturer: "It looks like it's an UL heater" :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:. . . Can anyone say Underwriters Lab?

He brought the sticker back. Listed right on the bottom of sticker Mfr.: A.O. Smith. We fired him that day.

First day on job: Plumber setting up his truck and among his tools CHAINSAW! :eek::eek: Told him he won't be needing that. He lasted one week.

·
Registered
1,404 Posts
:laughing::laughing:

almost sounds like it would be better to hire someone with 0 experience and a little common sense, then you might end up with a decent plumber before you would if you continued with those types of people.

Did he say what the chainsaw was for? :laughing:

·
Banned
913 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·