Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Chase Plumber
289 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the bidding process of a commercial job and was curious of how it worked.

We done a school about 2 years ago and the supplier (Ferguson) won that bid, the supplier bid. . So that kinda threw me for a loop .. . I'm use to pricing labor & material or just labor on a job. .

How does it work to bid a big commercial job in?

·
Registered
10 Posts
I believe that it is your responsibility to bid material and award that bid. Depends on the job, but I have seen some where all fixtures are provided by the owner and some that require the plumber to supply. But all floor drains, primers, backflow devices, floor sinks stuff like this you need to bid.

·
Professional Bullshioter
6,092 Posts
We bid jobs based on materials, labor, and profit. Don't normally bid jobs where someone else supplies material. I want to make a markup on it and the customer wants a turn key complete job. If I supply something and there is a problem, I fix it. If the owner supplies it, it gets a little sticky if there is defective materials.

·
Banned
1,589 Posts
I'll take a stab at this with what little I know on commercial bidding.
It's a numbers game, bid as many jobs as you can, bid high and wait to see what comes back.
Your better off not getting larger jobs at low rates than getting high cost jobs at under-bids.
I have seen my share of new shops loose their shirts when they fall a few weeks behind and cannot make payroll before the next incrimental check is due.
I saw a comment elsewhere on this forum about Ferguson bidding commercial jobs(?)...
IF thats so, forget it...you won't match their stock pricing...which arouses questions on whether it's true that they do plumbing and whether it's not an illegal conflict of interest.

·
Banned
3,806 Posts
I saw a comment elsewhere on this forum about Ferguson bidding commercial jobs(?)...