Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Brothers!

I like the forum, a lot of good info here. I just signed up and I guess I will take this opportunity to ask for some advice.

I'm a first year Steamfitting apprentice (27 yrs. old) working out of the United Association Local 46 Union Hall in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

I have been working with mostly plumbers and have been doing more soldering than fitting pipe. A lot of the guys I have worked with have said that I should be doing a plumbing apprenticeship rather than a steamfitting one because " a plumber can do steamfitting work, but a steamfitter cannot do plumbing as the code is way more in depth" etc. etc.

Here in Toronto, plumbers, steamfitters, and welders work out of one union hall. I think in New York the trades have a more "black and white" jurisdiction on the work they do.

I don't know if anyone here is out of UA Local 46 but if anyone can give me their own perspective on this it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanx.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
so you are a licensed plumber that has worked as a "pipefitter"? We have a few travel cards from 488 and they have listed themselves as a "pipefitter" but I haven't seen too many people dispatched as pipefitters........

So what would you do in my shoes? I think what helped me get into the UA was due to the fact I picked "steamfitting" as my trade.

I guess there aren't too many steamfitters so that is why. Anyway, the JTAC (training committee) isn't too keen on apprentices skipping over to another trade especially since there are way too many plumbers as compared to steamfitters.