Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a commercial plumber so we have the big v8 trucks that we use daily. I was wondering if any of you guys work out a v6 workvan or would you prefer a v8? Im in the market for a new van but im torn on the v6 to the v8. Let me know you opinions.

·
Muck me?
700 Posts
I worked for a company that had v6 astro vans. They were great size for what we were doing, and I could get away with one now too. They do have more room inside than i expected

·
Registered
265 Posts
I work out of a Sprinter.....5cyl turbo. I decided to make the change when my GMC with a Stahl utility body was getting 6-8mpg. Now I get at least 18-20mpg. That's with the longer wheelbase and dual real axle.:thumbsup:

·
Residential Plumber
165 Posts
We work out of the 2500 and 3500 extended express/savannah, no truck can hold as much stuff as these. We can take full 12-13 ft lengths of pipe shelves with a microwave etc i'll never work out of anything else.

·
٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶&#
8,329 Posts
Screw vans. Get a box truck. You will not believe how much of your life you wasted going back and forth to the supply house and shop. 95% you have what you need to do the whole job start to finish right on your truck.