Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
The Old (antique) Master
2,246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This has been in my computer for some time.
I don't know where it came from. I think OSHA.
I don't think the young lad made it.
But the graphic of it might save a life.

It is titled "This Happened in Ohio"

If you have ever seen this, consider this a reminder.

Attachments

·
every tool is a hammer
4,304 Posts
That poor soul is indeed dead. The plumbing shop he worked for had a long, proud history of "git 'er dun." Also had a long proud history of OSHA writeups. Guess who never had to get in the ditch and get er dun? Guess who never took OSHA seriously? The owner and supervision. Guess who got killed? A poor schmuck plumber.

·
Trust me. I'm a doctor.
934 Posts
I subcontracted from a shop in the late 80's and had a freind at the company die this way. I heard everyone talking over the two-way radio about him getting buried. I was only a few miles away and drove to the site. I watched the fire department lift him from the hole in a body bag. it was a very sobering thing to see. I learned my lesson and will refuse to go in a hole that is not properly shored or excavated. The coroner after the autopsy said he died from his aorta rupturing.

The company got off pretty easy on the fines and we all had to go to school for trench shoring and working in confined spaces.

I would like to take a class on that again as a refresher.

·
Registered
651 Posts
That poor soul is indeed dead. The plumbing shop he worked for had a long, proud history of "git 'er dun." Also had a long proud history of OSHA writeups. Guess who never had to get in the ditch and get er dun? Guess who never took OSHA seriously? The owner and supervision. Guess who got killed? A poor schmuck plumber.
Jjbex, did he have a wife & kids? If so, doubly tragic.

·
Ridgid tool user
4,909 Posts
Well said. For those that took light of this matter........ what if this was you?

·