Need Help with Sloan Transformer - Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Professional Plumbers Forum > Commercial Plumbing


Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By dhal22
  • 1 Post By Toli
  • 1 Post By plumbersteve27
  • 1 Post By mtfallsmikey
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2019, 05:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 20

View plumbersteve27's Photo Album My Photos
Default Need Help with Sloan Transformer

Hey all.
Our plumbers tend to wait till last minute to tell us anything so I'm hoping you guys can give me a quick answer so I can go ahead and order what I need in the morning.

We have multiple Sloan hardwired flush valves (ECOS 111) that we need transformers for. The spec sheet calls for a Sloan EL-451. I know nothing about electricity or installing these things, really.
The spec sheet for the EL-451 says "Transformer 6V 25 VA"
...That's it. All it says.
Now, from what I've gathered, that's a 6V output voltage and a 25 VA rating?
No one seems to stock this transformer but I managed to find a transformer, not made by sloan but looks the same, that has 6V output but is only 18 VA rating. Will this work for this flush valve?
We need 3 transformers. One to power 3 FV's, One to power 5 FV's, and One to power 1 FV. The EL-451 can support up to six so I thought maybe it would work since we aren't using it to it's capacity.

Apologies for the essay. Hopefully someone can help because apparently we needed these, like, yesterday.

Thanks
plumbersteve27 is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PlumbingZone.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2019, 05:12 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 20

View plumbersteve27's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Oh, the transformer I found is part number 14W015 on graingers website. If that helps determining if it will work or not.
plumbersteve27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 07:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
dhal22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,179

View dhal22's Photo Album My Photos
Default

We've replaced Sloan transformers but I don't remember the details. Call Sloan.....
MASTRPLUMB likes this.
dhal22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2019, 06:38 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 289

View Toli's Photo Album My Photos
Default

You can go higher on the VA but not lower.
mtfallsmikey likes this.
Toli is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Toli For This Useful Post:
mtfallsmikey (Today)
Old 08-01-2019, 07:33 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 20

View plumbersteve27's Photo Album My Photos
Default

After some digging and a lot of bugging my electrician buddies, turns out we could use them but would only be able to power 1 flush valve per transformer. Guess we have to order them from sloan. Was worth a shot. Need to teach our plumbers some better planning!

Thanks for the responses, everyone!
mtfallsmikey likes this.
plumbersteve27 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plumbersteve27 For This Useful Post:
mtfallsmikey (Today)
Old Today, 01:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mtfallsmikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mt. Falls Va.
Posts: 402

View mtfallsmikey's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plumbersteve27 View Post
After some digging and a lot of bugging my electrician buddies, turns out we could use them but would only be able to power 1 flush valve per transformer. Guess we have to order them from sloan. Was worth a shot. Need to teach our plumbers some better planning!

Thanks for the responses, everyone!

I would never replace those with an aftermarket substitution, too many potential issues. What caused them to go out anyway?
MASTRPLUMB likes this.
mtfallsmikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
skoronesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,337

View skoronesa's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtfallsmikey View Post
I would never replace those with an aftermarket substitution, too many potential issues. What caused them to go out anyway?

Assuming he picks an appropriately rated transformer, please, I ask if you could elaborate on what could go wrong?






.
__________________
Want privacy from the diy/hacks? Too bad, the motherland has fallen, freedom is dead.


"I'd rather have Questions that can't be answered, then Answers that can't be questioned"
skoronesa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | RoofingTalk.com