Freeze copper line to stop flow - Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Professional Plumbers Forum > Commercial Plumbing

Like Tree9Likes

Old 04-01-2019, 07:51 PM   #1

View Mykeeb33's Photo Album My Photos
Exclamation Freeze copper line to stop flow

I would like to freeze a 1/2" "M" copper water line with dry ice to add a 1/2" valve 6' down stream. Anyone ever do this? How much of the line do you apply the ice to? 2"? 4"? 6"? How long? cloth around line first? Obviously over freezing would cause the line to split. Not good! I know there can be no water movement while this operation is being attempted..... When I was an apprentice in 1980 I was with a journeyman that froze a 3" "L" line in a hospital and it worked! I know they have commercial kits designed for this, but I would like to try this if I get some good answers here. The reason I can't just shut the main valve is I'm on the bottom of 4 story 32 unit resort condo and it's a lot of hassle to schedule a shutdown.
Mykeeb33 is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PlumbingZone.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2019, 09:20 PM   #2

View ken53's Photo Album My Photos

Freezing worker i have use freeze kits over the years many times. You have to be prepared for things to go wrong dry ice isn't a good way to go, you need a kit. One thing you need to do is stop all flow our you will get wet. You need lots of time usually figure on twenty minutes. Live with the hassle it will be better in the long run.
skoronesa and Tango like this.