Thermocoupler - Page 2 - Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Professional Plumbers Forum > Residential Plumbing


Like Tree39Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2017, 09:53 PM   #11
Super Moderator
 
OpenSights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Grand Ledge, MI
Posts: 4,720

View OpenSights's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Two reasons for failure: product failure or a disaster prevention.
OpenSights is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PlumbingZone.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2017, 09:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 285

View Toli's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill View Post
Ok, so, what do y'all think. Can it be bypassed using a universal thermocoupler?


The thermocouple will function fine without it. But, you eliminated a factory safety. I guess you need to ask yourself if you're ok with that.

I'm not passing judgement here. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.
Toli is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Toli For This Useful Post:
MACPLUMB777 (05-28-2017), OpenSights (05-25-2017)
Old 05-26-2017, 06:05 AM   #13
Moderator
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: I have no idea!
Posts: 6,781

View Bill's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Yahoo to Bill
Default

What I am saying is i replaced the thermo coupler with a new one, its just that the new one does not have that thing inline.
__________________
New to this site? Check this out! https://www.plumbingzone.com/f3/

Ones intellect can often be summed up by his own words
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-26-2017, 07:15 AM   #14
Master Plumber
 
plumberkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: KC
Posts: 1,818

View plumberkc's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Sorry Bill but your boss is a hack, that's a total handyman move here and could lead to somebody dying. The reason ALL water heaters after 2003 are required to have that are in case the flue or chimney is obstructed. If the chimney collapses it will vent into the house and kill somebody. Or could possible catch on fire, definitely not worth the risk. Especially when the right part is so easy to stock. I mean why even show up to a no hot water call without a 100 series PA?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
OpenSights and Sipp like this.
plumberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plumberkc For This Useful Post:
OpenSights (05-26-2017)
Old 05-26-2017, 10:30 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 73

View Sipp's Photo Album My Photos
Default

You modified an appliance from how it was designed and certified. In the event something bad happens, the manufacturer will take ZERO responsibility and throw you and your boss to the wolves.

The best way to think of this issue is, how would you feel if the customer was your mom or grandparent and a contractor did this?
sparky, OpenSights and MACPLUMB777 like this.
Sipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 02:05 PM   #16
Super Moderator
 
OpenSights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Grand Ledge, MI
Posts: 4,720

View OpenSights's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Hard on you, overnight, but it needs to be replaced with the right part. I'm all for temp fixes with a return call, but not permanent.

What's our code? Something about Heath and wellfare?
sparky and MACPLUMB777 like this.
OpenSights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 02:38 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 144

View indyjim's Photo Album My Photos
Default

My code is don't do anything at anyone's home you wouldn't do at your own home.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
OpenSights and MACPLUMB777 like this.
indyjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 03:26 PM   #18
Moderator
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: I have no idea!
Posts: 6,781

View Bill's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Yahoo to Bill
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plumberkc View Post
Sorry Bill but your boss is a hack, that's a total handyman move here and could lead to somebody dying. The reason ALL water heaters after 2003 are required to have that are in case the flue or chimney is obstructed. If the chimney collapses it will vent into the house and kill somebody. Or could possible catch on fire, definitely not worth the risk. Especially when the right part is so easy to stock. I mean why even show up to a no hot water call without a 100 series PA?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There you go. I did not say I was leaving it like that. Matter of fact the new one came in this morning. Picked it up, swaped it out. All I wanted was for someone to explain what that particular part is for. I know what and how the thermo coupler works, I just wanted to know what the additional part was. So, if I understand you right, if the flue clogs up, the hot fumes can not escape, feed back into water heater, causing that diode looking part to shut down the water heater, correct?
__________________
New to this site? Check this out! https://www.plumbingzone.com/f3/

Ones intellect can often be summed up by his own words
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Bill For This Useful Post:
GAN (05-26-2017), MACPLUMB777 (05-28-2017), OpenSights (05-26-2017)
Old 05-26-2017, 03:49 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 144

View indyjim's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Exactly.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
indyjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 07:08 PM   #20
Super Moderator
 
OpenSights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Grand Ledge, MI
Posts: 4,720

View OpenSights's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indyjim View Post
My code is don't do anything at anyone's home you wouldn't do at your own home.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If I had the same code, you'd loose your mind over the plumbing in my house! I've had to do repairs, not exactly right, but they work.

When I get home I have time for billing, not plumbing.
Eddy k, MACPLUMB777 and indyjim like this.
OpenSights is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | RoofingTalk.com