perplexing - Page 2 - Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Professional Plumbers Forum > Residential Plumbing


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2016, 08:57 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 55

View JimmyMac's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saysflushable View Post
Remember if you had a bad connection the amps would be low. High amps represents a slow motor or a short not a bad connection.

Not an electrician but I could play one on TV.
Thats nice, but not to rain on your parade but I am a carded electrician too and you are wrong...
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JimmyMac For This Useful Post:
GAN (02-24-2016), saysflushable (02-12-2016)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PlumbingZone.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2016, 09:01 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
ShtRnsdownhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,562

View ShtRnsdownhill's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill View Post
Damn. It started to act up again. Pulled pump which is a Jacuzzi. I just replaced ot 3 years ago i think. Got it from lowes i think. First pump lasted 30 years, this one 3. Anyway old pump was pulling 30 amp to start, ran at 10. This one starts t 8.8 and runs at 8.5 amp.
I thought 30 amp was way high, just could not recall.
to be honest, the last place I would buy a deep well pump is from the big box stores...they are of average quality to say the least..I got mine from a regular supply house..I believe the last one was a gould http://www.amazon.com/Goulds-10HS054...JRP7VWX0QKpump and I would go 220, pulls less amps and less strain on the pump..also putting a bigger or double expansion tank makes the pump cycle less, thats what kills these pumps is the constant on off on off...just my 2cents...
ShtRnsdownhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 07:30 PM   #13
Moderator
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: I have no idea!
Posts: 6,781

View Bill's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Yahoo to Bill
Default

Exactly right.
I always tell people not to buy a small tank as it makes the pump run more often
__________________
New to this site? Check this out! https://www.plumbingzone.com/f3/

Ones intellect can often be summed up by his own words
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2016, 07:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 303

View paultheplumber1's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I only install Gould pumps. Sounds like a 5gs would do you just fine. If you went 220 route
paultheplumber1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 08:44 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 882

View saysflushable's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Thats nice, but not to rain on your parade but I am a carded electrician too and you are wrong...
Oh man I'm wrong all the time.. And if I'm giving bad advice its not nice..... So a loose connection or bad connection could cause high amp draw?
saysflushable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 04:24 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 55

View JimmyMac's Photo Album My Photos
Default

YES!....You were almost right, once it burns all the way up it will cause NO amp draw.
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JimmyMac For This Useful Post:
saysflushable (02-16-2016)
Old 02-16-2016, 11:35 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 882

View saysflushable's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
YES!....You were almost right, once it burns all the way up it will cause NO amp draw.
Isn't the higher the resistance the lower the amp draw?
saysflushable is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | RoofingTalk.com