Indirect drain for boiler ? - Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Professional Plumbers Forum > Plumbing Code


Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By dkonrai
  • 3 Post By GAN
  • 1 Post By dkonrai
  • 1 Post By skoronesa
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2019, 08:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
dkonrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 28

View dkonrai's Photo Album My Photos
Default Indirect drain for boiler ?

Long story short.
Roof top boiler. Mechanical guy had to relocate about 50 feet from plan.
Boiler, and closed loop has 3/4 inch relief valves.
Boiler drain is 1 1/4.
Is it better to run a 2 inch line, 90 up to a receptacle? Or run seperate, boiler drain, boiler relief, closed loop relief?
Per plan I have installed a roof receptacle that has a 2 inch dam, and a 3/4 make up protected by a rpbfp.
Or run all seperate lines?
Never run into a situation like this in all my years.
Thanks in advance.

Sent from my moto g(7) using Tapatalk
skoronesa and MASTRPLUMB like this.
dkonrai is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PlumbingZone.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2019, 08:46 AM   #2
GAN
Super Moderator
 
GAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. Louis Metro
Posts: 2,023

View GAN's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Wow. First take a step back. If you installed per the "Approved Drawings", I would not alter it without a "Licensed Design Professional" (Architect or Engineer). Most locations an alteration without an approved change of work order leaves you in a position you don't want to be in.

If no drawings were provided and this is an as-built situation, there is still a question. For instance if this was just a swap out form an old to new unit (without a set of drawings) you have more leeway. To me in (Illinois) a condensate type drain is not required to terminate into a receptor on a roof. It can discharge on a roof and evaporate or run to scuppers. Since your looking at a temp issue, you need a receptor to deal with heat.

I would cut into the roof an install a floor sink, trap & vent it next to the unit. Then run all indirect into it. You mention an R.P.Z., not knowing you location. We are mandated to install those not more than 5" AFF, unless there is a walkway and discharge the relief onto a floor (providing a FD is in the same area) or indirect into a receptor.

Not knowing you area installing on outside I hope your not in an area subject to freezing, unless you utilize a hot box. Or install within the building mech room and run the line clearly marked non-potable water.
__________________
Il. Lic.# 058-106725, Il. C.C.D.I. Lic. # XCO396
Remember valor, honor, independence, family & clan;
I do whenever I hear the ceol mor,
the "great music" of the Highland bagpipe. I swear upon the holy iron of my dirk that I will not forget.
GAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 12:37 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
dkonrai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 28

View dkonrai's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Ok done.
We moved the drain closer to the boiler.
Located in California, bayarea.
I passed inspection guess that's all that matters?

Sent from my moto g(7) using Tapatalk
skoronesa likes this.
dkonrai is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dkonrai For This Useful Post:
MASTRPLUMB (12-14-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-14-2019, 12:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 124

View MASTRPLUMB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Great looking work !
MASTRPLUMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 07:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
skoronesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: East Bumfuk, Mississippi
Posts: 3,244

View skoronesa's Photo Album My Photos
Default

In that last picture, couldn't you have had all those copper legs come over to the boiler pad at the same height? If they all came over just above the pad you could have done one more piece of unistrut with some clamps. That one inch line looks like 6'+ of unsupported pipe.


Is there enough room between those pipes for a pipe cutter or will the next guy be swearing at you?




Will you be insulating all this?


















.
MASTRPLUMB likes this.
__________________
Want privacy from the diy/hacks? Too bad, the motherland has fallen, freedom is dead.


"I'd rather have Questions that can't be answered, than Answers that can't be questioned"
skoronesa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | RoofingTalk.com