Brand new proline AO Smith in soft lockout - Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Professional Plumbers Forum > Boilers, Hot Water & Steam Heating


Like Tree18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2020, 10:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
JohnnieSqueeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 818

View JohnnieSqueeze's Photo Album My Photos
Default Brand new proline AO Smith in soft lockout

Installed an AO smith proline 50,000 btu GPVT-50. Getting a six-two flash

soft lock out
recycle limit
pressure switch high limit


any ideas? Thank You.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JohnnieSqueeze is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PlumbingZone.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2020, 07:16 PM   #2
Plumbing since 1974
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lafayette, (SF Bay Area) California
Posts: 107

View breplum's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Call tech desk.
If properly installed, they should set you up with [I]factory[I]authorized and paid field service.
I have run into this before and when we end up running for parts and doing the work, there is no (or very poor) reimbursement.
Except Navien pays maximum two hours @$75./per (for the first year), which is better than a poke in the eye. But I would be losing money to send anyone but me!
That is the same rate that they pay plumbers who sign up to be NSS listed.
skoronesa likes this.
__________________
Marc Brenner Company
Lafayette, CA

925 283-3408
breplum is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to breplum For This Useful Post:
MACPLUMB777 (03-05-2020)
Old 03-06-2020, 06:40 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 387

View Toli's Photo Album My Photos
Default

IIRC, the pressure switch and high limit (I think it’s for the blower) are wired in series. So, if the blower is running, you need to figure out which one is open and then figure out why. If the blower is not running when it should be then you need to start there.
MACPLUMB777 likes this.
Toli is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2020, 05:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
JohnnieSqueeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 818

View JohnnieSqueeze's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I increased vent size to 3”, I was 6’ over max developed length for 2” and it coded like an AOSmithole! I think its because i had to use a 90/45 offset right out of the gate. Anyway, all seems good.

Until they text me at 8 pm tonight.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
skoronesa likes this.
JohnnieSqueeze is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JohnnieSqueeze For This Useful Post:
MACPLUMB777 (03-06-2020)
Old 03-06-2020, 08:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
The Dane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: NW Minnesota
Posts: 1,035

View The Dane's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnieSqueeze View Post
I increased vent size to 3”, I was 6’ over max developed length for 2” and it coded like an AOSmithole! I think its because i had to use a 90/45 offset right out of the gate. Anyway, all seems good.

Until they text me at 8 pm tonight.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
6' over developed length. Did you account for the restriction in the fittings? I think a 90 counts for something like 5' and 45 maybe 3'. So if you forgot that then in reality you would be something like 6'+5'+3' over the max developed lenght. So a total of 14' too long and not just 6'.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
The Dane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 09:16 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
JohnnieSqueeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 818

View JohnnieSqueeze's Photo Album My Photos
Default

accounting for fittings and its

i believe
7 ft for elbows/short sweep
5 ft for long sweep


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JohnnieSqueeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 09:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
ShtRnsdownhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,872

View ShtRnsdownhill's Photo Album My Photos
Default

im surprised they would even allow 2inch venting just that a dead mouse would block the whole pipe or ant debris for that amount...
skoronesa and MACPLUMB777 like this.
__________________
You cant cure stupid, only kill it..
ShtRnsdownhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 10:07 AM   #8
Moderator
 
Tommy plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 12,394

View Tommy plumber's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShtRnsdownhill View Post
im surprised they would even allow 2inch venting just that a dead mouse would block the whole pipe or ant debris for that amount...








I thought the same thing when I read it. But maybe its a power vent model{looking at the model number} and I didn't want to look stupid.....which is easy to do.....LOL


And as we all know, if an engineer designed it, then it has to be perfect for its application......
__________________
Hire a licensed master plumber.
Tommy plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 04:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ShtRnsdownhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,872

View ShtRnsdownhill's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy plumber View Post
I thought the same thing when I read it. But maybe its a power vent model{looking at the model number} and I didn't want to look stupid.....which is easy to do.....LOL


And as we all know, if an engineer designed it, then it has to be perfect for its application......

LMAO..I just thought of the visual of a dead mouse being shot out the flue pipe right into the neighbors open window....or hitting someone walking by...
chonkie, skoronesa and MACPLUMB777 like this.
__________________
You cant cure stupid, only kill it..
ShtRnsdownhill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ShtRnsdownhill For This Useful Post:
Tommy plumber (03-08-2020)
Old 03-08-2020, 10:23 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: highland ca
Posts: 482

View jeffreyplumber's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I guess thats why they have max length, I wouldnt expect it to act up over 6 or 7 foot . Thanks for the heads up glad you got it all fixed up!
skoronesa likes this.
jeffreyplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | RoofingTalk.com