Let Them Do What ? - Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Plumbing Forum > General Plumbing Discussion

Like Tree14Likes

Old 05-13-2019, 09:12 AM   #1

View bobtheplummer's Photo Album My Photos
Default Let Them Do What ?

I have been doing plumbing work in the city I come from for 30 years.
Usually when doing a water service replacement I tie the piping into the cities meter. (way I was taught). I have been asked numerous times "why don't you let the city tie it in, what if something breaks on the yolk ,etc.."?.
(we cannot get City Yolks at supply house)..
Well, I did a service, poly piping,and the yolk was old and rusted,so I figure call the city and get them to do it. (no one presently in home).
I called city service left order,seemed easy enough. Few days no one shows...I call again, this time, "I can only speak to owner". OK.. I have owner call, they tell him 21 days ! OK..NO SHOW.. Owner calls again, "i am sorry sir,someone will be there tomorrow".
OK...Couple days go by owner asks if I will see if they showed. I go to site,tag on door says "all done".. YUP, new service staring me in the face, meter on,water steady running through dis-connected service, YUP,all done ,I for one do not think calling them is a good idea .
skoronesa and MASTRPLUMB like this.
bobtheplummer is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PlumbingZone.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-13-2019, 12:38 PM   #2
Moderator Wizard

View Tango's Photo Album My Photos