Navitrack II Interference - Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Plumbing Tools, Products & Safety > Plumbing Tools and Equipment


Like Tree10Likes
  • 3 Post By gear junkie
  • 2 Post By dhal22
  • 4 Post By V.A Hydro-ooter
  • 1 Post By JohnnieSqueeze
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2019, 11:22 PM   #1
Moderator Wizard
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Québec
Posts: 5,713

View Tango's Photo Album My Photos
Default Navitrack II Interference

I had to use my Navitrack II yesterday to locate my chinese camera sonde and I was getting so much interference it would spin like a casino slot machine. After fooling around it brought me a strong signal and guess what there were buried telephone wires with flags. The french drain was running along the perimeter of the building.

Anyone else have that issue? I never was able to locate anything.
Attached Thumbnails
Navitrack II Interference-31-1-.jpg  

Navitrack II Interference-31-9-.jpg  

Navitrack II Interference-31-12-.jpg  


Last edited by Tango; 08-02-2019 at 12:17 AM..
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PlumbingZone.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2019, 12:11 AM   #2
Ridgid tool user
 
gear junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of the UPC
Posts: 4,878

View gear junkie's Photo Album My Photos
Default

yup happened to me as well. all kind of things can give false readings.
skoronesa, Tango and MASTRPLUMB like this.
__________________
Buy cheap, buy twice.
gear junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 08:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
dhal22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,416

View dhal22's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Start over again at the beginning. A little bit at a time so you know where you are going.
skoronesa and MASTRPLUMB like this.
dhal22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2019, 08:52 AM   #4
Moderator Wizard
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Québec
Posts: 5,713

View Tango's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhal22 View Post
Start over again at the beginning. A little bit at a time so you know where you are going.
It was impossible to get a strong signal, I'd get different numbers and it wasn't stable.
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 06:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
skoronesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2,334

View skoronesa's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Were you tracking the head of the camera? I almost never have any issue tracking the head of the camera. Other stuff is hit or miss but the camera is like 99% fool proof.








.
__________________
Want privacy from the diy/hacks? Too bad, the motherland has fallen, freedom is dead.


"I'd rather have Questions that can't be answered, then Answers that can't be questioned"
skoronesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 06:47 PM   #6
Moderator Wizard
 
Tango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Québec
Posts: 5,713

View Tango's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skoronesa View Post
Were you tracking the head of the camera? I almost never have any issue tracking the head of the camera. Other stuff is hit or miss but the camera is like 99% fool proof.








.
Yep I was trying to find the camera head. If it was nearby I was able to locate it anything further than 10 feet from my starting point then nada.

I'll test it out on top of the ground next week and see what happens. Evidently it won't be deep though to simulate real life.
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 07:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 299

View V.A Hydro-ooter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I've had problems tracking with mine when the line is deep and there are overhead lines. I just pull it back to a spot where I get a good reading and trace 5 feet at a time. Once you're near the interference zone you can mark it out based on the length of cable you've pushed in since the last mark.
dhal22, skoronesa, Tango and 1 others like this.
V.A Hydro-ooter is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to V.A Hydro-ooter For This Useful Post:
Tommy plumber (08-03-2019)
Old 12-04-2019, 09:54 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
JohnnieSqueeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 801

View JohnnieSqueeze's Photo Album My Photos
Default

agree it helps to go 5 ft at a time. Also and its nothing to be ashamed of, Ive been on the wrong side of the house several times. You never know where these lines go sometimes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
skoronesa likes this.
JohnnieSqueeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | RoofingTalk.com