Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum
PLUMBERS, CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Go Back   Plumbing Zone - Professional Plumbers Forum > Plumbing Forum > General Plumbing Discussion

View Poll Results: As a Plumber I
use this daily 20 54.05%
don't use it, I'm a new construction plumber who doesn't care 16 43.24%
rely on the manufacture of supplier to have it on parts 17 45.95%
have never used this product, have no clue what it is 16 43.24%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 37. You may not vote on this poll

Old 03-20-2013, 12:59 PM   #1
www.DunbarPlumbing.com

View DUNBAR PLUMBING's Photo Album My Photos
Default Food Grade Silicone - Plumber's Grease

I just bought enough of this product to last years, in 4oz. aluminum squeeze tubes. Dawn dish detergent along with hot water will clean off anything this product comes in contact with.

For years, literally years (13+) I've been using this product. I started off using the regular grease that backfired instantly, would get hot in the truck during warmer climate months and make a huge mess.

The clear silicone I'd use only for in contact with potable water, the others for threaded connections that were 'not' in contact with potable water (petroleum base, ruins O-rings and all things rubber) and over the years they've made much improvement to that product.

When I started buying the FDA approved product in the super small containers, it was like trying to spread gelatin, spreadability was terrible and wouldn't get to the locations (thread patterns, slide patterns) to get the lubrication needed.